Lunes-Viernes: 8:00am – 5:30pm | Sábados: 8:00am – 1:00pm




What You’re Legally Required to Do After an Auto Accident in Oregon

Getting into an auto accident can be traumatizing. You may suffer from an injury, your car could be severely damaged, and you might experience shock from the experience. However, as much as you can, you need to make sure you’re following the law in Oregon when you get into an accident. Otherwise, you could get into trouble.

The following is information on what you need to do legally after an auto accident.

Stop and Render Aid

Make sure that when the accident happens, you stop and render aid to anyone who is injured. This can involve giving them a hand if they need it and/or calling an ambulance as soon as possible. For example, if you hit someone, you cannot just drive away. This would be a hit-and-run, which is illegal and could land you behind bars. If you are the person who is injured, make sure you seek medical treatment as soon as possible.

Report the Accident

You are legally required to report the accident to the police. Call 9-1-1, wait for the police to come, and file a report. Be honest about everything that happened. If you lie, you could also get into trouble.

Exchange Information With the Other Driver

In Oregon, it’s necessary to exchange information with the other driver involved, whether or not the auto accident was your fault. Exchange your:

  • Names and contact information
  • Insurance policy number
  • License plate number
  • Driver’s license number

Then, call up your insurance provider ASAP to let them know about what happened.

Submit an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report

Within 72 hours of the accident, you need to submit an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report to the DMV if the damage to your vehicle or any other vehicle involved was over $2,500. You also need to report if there were any injuries or death.

According to the official website, the report needs to say the following:

  • Your name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and mailing address;
  • Information about the vehicle you were operating when the crash occurred, including vehicle license plate number, State where the vehicle is registered, vehicle identification number, year, make, and model; and
  • Insurance company name (not agent) and insurance policy number.
  • If you are required to file a report and do not, the DMV will issue you a suspension notice.

If you got into an accident and the damages were for less than $2,500, you can submit a report to the DMV if the other party doesn’t have insurance. You will have to note on your report that the auto accident doesn’t meet the requirements.

You can find the Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report paperwork here.

Other Information You Should Collect

You’re not legally required to do this, but you should also collect photographs of the scene of the accident, your visible injuries, and the damage to your car and other belongings. Also, gather witness statements, note the locations of any cameras, and go to the hospital for treatment ASAP, so you have a chance of getting a settlement.

Contact Zbinden & Curtis Today

Zbinden & Curtis, a Portland personal injury law firm, cares about accident victims, and we’re ready to help you with your auto accident in Portland. We fight tooth and nail for our clients to get them the settlement they deserve in their time of need.


Contact us today to learn more by calling (503) 287-5000 or contacting us on our website for a free case evaluation. We look forward to hearing from you.

Latest Posts


Free Injury Case Evaluation

Este campo es un campo de validación y debe quedar sin cambios.

Related Practice Areas

The Potential Consequences of a Hit-and-run Accident in Portland

This article delves into the significant legal ramifications that result from leaving the scene of an accident in Portland, OR, and offers guidance on...

How to Deal With An Uninsured Driver in a Car Accident in Woodburn, Oregon 

Guide on handling a car accident with an uninsured driver in Woodburn, Oregon. Seek medical help, gather evidence, consult a lawyer, and file a...

A Fault and No-Fault State Car Accident Cases: What are the Differences?

Understanding the legal intricacies surrounding car accident cases is crucial, especially when it comes to the differences between fault and no-fault state systems....

How to Negotiate a Settlement After a Car Accident in Portland?

Negotiating your auto accident settlement can often feel overwhelming. Here’s some advice from some helpful experts....

What to Do and Not to Do: After Being in an Auto Accident

What you do immediately following a car accident can sometimes make or break your case....

How to Find the Right Auto Accident Lawyer in Portland or Woodburn?

Finding the right auto accident attorney can make all the difference in securing the compensation you deserve....