You got into a car accident in Oregon. Now, you’re wondering: Is Oregon a fault or no-fault state? By finding out the answer, you can figure out how to proceed. Either way, if you were injured in an auto accident, it’s worth it to call a personal injury lawyer to try and get the compensation you deserve.
Is Oregon a No-Fault State?
There are only 12 states that have no-fault accident laws on the books, and Oregon is not one of them. It’s a fault state.
Fault vs. No-Fault
In Oregon, if you cause an accident, then you are responsible for covering the costs of the other driver’s injuries and repairs to their car and/or personal property. That means your insurance will cover it, or you will cover it out of pocket, depending on what you work out with the other driver. Essentially, the property damage liability portion of your insurance policy will pay for the damage to the other driver’s vehicle. Your bodily injury liability insurance should cover the other drivers (as well as their passenger’s) medical bills if they became injured in the crash. Your insurance will cover up to your limit, and you will need to cover the rest. If you have excellent coverage, then your insurance provider may pay for damages to your vehicle along with the medical bills for you and your passengers if you were injured.
If you’re in a no-fault state, then the driver is still at-fault technically; they’re just off the hook for injury coverage. They will still need to pay for property damage using property damage liability coverage. Both drivers’ insurance providers will cover their medical expenses with PIP coverage, no matter who caused the crash.
What Are the Minimum Coverage Requirements in Oregon?
In Oregon, these are the minimum coverage amounts you need:
- $50,000 liability coverage for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
- $15,000 in personal injury protection coverage per person
- Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident
- $25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
- $20,000 liability coverage for property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
What to Do After an Accident in Oregon
After you get into a car accident in Oregon, make sure you call the police and generate a police report of the incident. Take photographs of the damage to your car and belongings and the other driver’s license plate. Also, take photos of the entire scene. Note the locations of any cameras and write down everything you remember. Ask the other driver for their insurance information and driver’s license number. Then, if you are injured, you may want to consider seeking treatment. Keep up with your treatment until you feel better, and contact a personal injury lawyer ASAP. Then, you’ll have the best chance possible of getting the settlement you need.
Contact Zbinden & Curtis Today
Zbinden & Curtis, a Portland personal injury law firm, cares about accident victims, and we’re ready to help you if you get into an auto accident in Oregon. We fight tooth and nail for our clients to get them the settlement they deserve in their time of need.
Contact us today to learn more by calling (503) 287-5000 or contacting us on our website for a free case evaluation. We look forward to assisting you.